PROPAGANDA & ITS PSYCHOLOGICAL EFFECTS

2021_1

 

Deadline for submissions: 9.30.2020

In social and political science, propaganda can be characterized as a psychological action using all means of information to propagate a doctrine, create a movement of opinion and provoke a decision (source: National Center for Textual and Lexical Resources). Propaganda seeks to convince rather than inform, campaigning to influence a person or an authority, disseminating a message to a targeted audience. It mainly relates to politics, power and counter-power dynamics. In 1967, Theodor Adorno in The New Right-wing Extremism characterized it as an extreme perfection of rational means serving irrational ends. Traditionally, propaganda differs from advertising campaigns and has no lucrative purpose.


How can we relate to this definition of Th. Adorno's propaganda more than fifty years later? Does this nuance between market value and political stakes still hold in our current society, where networks of influence are becoming more complex? As Edward Herman and Noam Chomsky (1988) make explicit in their model of propaganda, where the boundary between power dynamics and economic stakes merge, are we facing a propaganda that redefines its terms and techniques? Moreover, what would be the purposes of today's propaganda?


A "Cambridge Analytica » data scandal, for example, shook the referendum on Brexit and the 2016 US presidential election and influenced local politics in 68 countries (Cadwalladr, 2020). This private company used the "likes" of the users of the digital platform Facebook to draw up their psychological profile and resell this data to campaign managers. On this basis, using the company's services, the latter could offer targeted content on the users' news feed. These people were unknowingly influenced by these videos and dispatches that appeared side by side with the publications of their family and friends.


David Colon (2019) speaks of "total propaganda" in the age of social networks, algorithms, trolls. The war of (dis)information(s) through the intoxication of the adversary, fake news, hacking of presidential elections makes any scientific analysis of the observed facts obsolete. The most worrying manifest effects of this propaganda would be the modification of behaviors (Shoshana Zouboff, 2019) and the polarization of emotions generating likes (Giuliano da Empoli, 2019), as well as an explosion of populist movements imposing leaders like Trump, Bolsonaro, Johnson, Orban, Salvini, etc.


Critical studies (of the media in particular, as the main propaganda agent) focus on the psychological effects of propaganda, a notion that has become taboo in academic circles, as Zollmann (2017) points out.


Sociology and cognitive psychology (Bronner, 2013; Lewandowsky et al., 2017) have begun to reflect on the confirmation biases intrinsic to this new propaganda within the era of social networks. Serge Tchakhotine (1952) used the terms of "crowd rape" and "psychological rape" to expose the conditioned Pavlovian reflexes carefully studied by propaganda institutes created by governments from the 1930s onwards and employing psychologists, psychoanalysts, anthropologists, etc. (Colon, 2019). Can today's "neuromarketing" be considered as an heir to this use of science to influence the masses? Can contemporary propaganda be thought of from the angle of psycho-power or neuro-power, with nudging infiltrating the communication techniques of leaders? This calls for a new analysis of the contemporary articulation between the individual, the collective and the meta-framework of power. In what way is the governmentality (Foucault, 1978) of our time influenced by a new approach to scientificity, turned towards risk prevention (Beck, 2007) and the management of behaviours (Curtis, 2016)? In what way, too, can this biopolitical society (Foucault, 1978) be turned into a culture, or even a cult, of ignorance (Girel, 2017)? The propaganda of our time, which this issue proposes to explore, involves thinking about conspiracy theories and other techniques currently in use. It is also fundamental to question the instances from which these alternative facts and distortions of information emanate, where the limits of true and false, fiction and reality seem to be fading away.  

Theodor Adorno thought it was in the service of "end-of-the-world fantasies" (1067, p. 26). For him, it was above all a matter of mass psychology.


Propaganda as an environmental agent with major unconscious influences has not yet been the subject of psychoanalytical studies as such. Psychoanalysts, starting with Freud, have, however, informed the development of propaganda strategies. The latter, from his analyses of social facts, in the works Psychology of the Masses and Analysis of the Ego, Civilization and its discontent and Future of an Illusion, laid the groundwork for a psychology of the masses and a psychoanalysis of the renunciation of instinct inherent in all civilizational work. Several authors after him (Zaltzman, Janin, Kaes, Rouchy, Stenger, to name but a few) have led major reflections on the vicissitudes of the work of civilization according to periods and cultures.


Psychoanalysis has precious keys to think, together with the social and political sciences, about this evolving phenomenon, to identify its effects on the subject, but also on the reciprocal alterations of the individual and of the forms of organization of the collective that can be understood through the analysis of these systems of influence. With psychoanalysis, can we think of propaganda as a dream work or a political symptom of our globalized social group? In what then, do the contours of current propaganda inform us about the state of our political system and the major psychic organizers of our post-modern social group?  

This issue proposes to think, always in the transdisciplinary dialogue that characterizes us, about the renewed forms of propaganda in our post-modern society. How can we characterize these new influencing techniques? Is it an evolution of old modes of influence or a technical revolution that is disrupting individual psychic economies? What are the effects, moreover, of this renewed propaganda in terms of the mutation of subjectivities and subjective positioning? How has the propaganda of hatred, fear, consumption (the other hydra of the contemporary world) influenced the subject of the environmental crisis, which is also a subject of economic warfare? And how could we approach, in the clinic, its unconscious effects combined with the effects of early experiences?


It is on the basis of these various, non-exhaustive questionings that we propose to open the reflection on this phenomenon of contemporary propaganda, for the purpose of analyzing the state of the Socius today as well as to draw the contours of a clinic of the individual and the post-modern social group.

REFERENCES
Adorno, T. (2019). Le nouvel extrémisme de droite. Climats.
Beck, U. (2007). World at risk. Polity.
Bronner, G. (2013). La démocratie des crédules. Presses universitaires de France.
Cadwalladr, C. (2020). Fresh Cambridge Analytica leak ‘shows global manipulation is out of control’. The Guardian.
Colon. D. (2019). Propagande. La manipulation de masse dans le monde contemporain. Paris : Belin.
Curtis, A. (2016). HyperNormalisation. UK: BBC.
Foucault, M. (1989). De la gouvernementalité: leçons d'introduction aux cours des années 1978 et 1979. Seuil.
Freud, S. (1921). Psychologie des foules et analyse du moi. Payot (2013).
Freud, S. (1927). L’avenir d’une illusion. Flammarion (2019).
Freud, S. (1930). Le malaise dans la civilisation. Points (2016).
Herman, E., Chomsky, N. (1988). La fabrication du consentement : de la propagande médiatique en démocratie. Paris : Agone (2008).
Lewandowsky, S., Ecker, U. K., & Cook, J. (2017). Beyond misinformation: Understanding and coping with the “post-truth” era. Journal of applied research in memory and cognition, 6(4), 353-369.
Girel, M. (2017). Science et territoires de l'ignorance. Éditions Quae.
Tchakhotine, S. (1952). Le viol des foules par la propagande politique. Gallimard.
Zollmann, F. (2017). Bringing Propaganda Back into News Media Studies. Critical sociology, 45 (3), p. 329-345.
Zuboff, S. (2019). The Age of Surveillance Capitalism. The Fight for a Human Future at the New Frontier of Power. Public affairs.

> BACK TO THE NEXT DEBATES

INAN_PROPAGANDE.jpg

PROPAGANDE ET EFFETS PSYCHOLOGIQUES

2021_2

Manuscrits: fin février 2021

 

En sciences sociales et politiques, la propagande peut se définir comme suit : action psychologique mettant en œuvre tous les moyens d’information pour propager une doctrine, créer un mouvement d’opinion et susciter une décision (source : Centre National des Ressources Textuelles et Lexicales). La propagande cherche à convaincre plus qu’à informer. Elle est une campagne d’influence d’une personne ou d’une instance, diffusant un message à un public cible. Elle se rapporte principalement au politique, à des dynamiques de pouvoir et de contre-pouvoir. En 1967, Theodor Adorno dans Le nouvel extrémisme de droite la caractérise comme une extrême perfection de moyens rationnels servant des fins irrationnelles. Traditionnellement, la propagande se différencie ici des campagnes publicitaires et n’a pas de vocation lucrative.


Comment penser cette définition de la propagande de Th. Adorno plus de cinquante ans plus tard ? Cette nuance entre valeur marchande et enjeux politiques tient-elle toujours dans notre société actuelle, où les réseaux d’influences se complexifient ? Comme l’explicite Edward Herman et Noam Chomsky (1988) dans leur modèle de la propagande, là où la frontière entre les dynamiques de pouvoir et les enjeux économiques se confondent, sommes-nous face à une propagande qui redéfinit ses termes et ses techniques ? De plus, à quelle fin sert la propagande d’aujourd’hui ?
L’affaire « Cambridge Analytica », ayant secoué le référendum sur le Brexit et l’élection présidentielle américaine de 2016 et influencé les politiques locales dans 68 pays (Cadwalladr, 2020), peut ici être citée comme exemple. Cette société privée s’appuyait sur les « likes » des utilisateurs de la plateforme numérique Facebook pour dresser leur profil psychologique et revendre ces données à des directeurs de campagnes qui pouvaient en retour, à l’aide des services de cette société, proposer des contenus ciblés sur le fil d’actualité de ces utilisateurs. Ces derniers étaient à leur insu influencés par ces vidéos et dépêches qui apparaissaient côte à côte avec les publications de leurs proches et amis.


David Colon (2019) parle de propagande totale à l’heure des réseaux sociaux, des algorithmes, des trolls, de la guerre de la (dés)information(s) passant par l’intoxication de l’adversaire, des fake-news, du hacking d’élections présidentielles rendant obsolète toute analyse scientifique des faits observés. Une propagande dont les effets manifestes les plus inquiétants seraient la modification des comportements (Shoshana Zouboff, 2019) et la polarisation des émotions générant des likes (Giuliano da Empoli, 2019) ainsi qu’une explosion des mouvements populistes imposant des dirigeants comme Trump, Bolsonaro, Johnson, Orban, Salvini, etc.


Les études critiques (des médias notamment, en tant que principal agent de propagation) mettent l’accent sur les effets psychologiques de la propagande, notion devenue tabou dans les milieux académiques, comme le signale Zollmann (2017).
La sociologie et psychologie cognitive (Bronner, 2013 ; Lewandowsky et al., 2017) ont amorcé une réflexion sur les biais de confirmation inhérents à cette propagande nouvelle à l’ère des réseaux sociaux. Serge Tchakhotine (1952) parlait de « viol des foules » et de « viol psychologique » faisant appel à des réflexes conditionnés pavloviens soigneusement étudiés par des instituts de propagande que les gouvernements créent à partir des années ’30 et qui emploient des psychologues, des psychanalystes, des anthropologues, etc (Colon, 2019). Le « neuromarketing » actuel peut-il être considéré comme un héritier de cet usage de la science à des fins d’influence des masses ? La propagande contemporaine peut-elle être pensée sous l’angle d’un psycho-pouvoir ou d’un neuro-pouvoir, le nudging infiltrant les techniques de communication des dirigeants ?  Ceci engage à analyser sous un angle nouveau l’articulation contemporaine entre individuel, collectif et métacadre de pouvoir. En quoi la gouvernementalité (Foucault, 1978) de notre époque est-elle influencée par une nouvelle approche de la scientificité, tournée vers la prévention du risque (Beck, 2007) et le management des conduites (Curtis, 2016) ? En quoi aussi, cette société du biopolitique (Foucault, 1978) peut-elle se retourner en son envers, culture voire culte de l’ignorance (Girel, 2017) ? La propagande de notre époque, que ce numéro se propose d’explorer, implique de penser les théories du complot et autres techniques utilisées actuellement, mais aussi de s’interroger sur les instances desquelles émanent ces faits alternatifs et distorsion de l’information, où les limites du vrai et du faux, de la fiction et de la réalité semblent s’effacer.  

Theodor Adorno la pensait au service de « fantasmes de fin du monde » (1067, p. 26). Elle était pour lui avant tout affaire de psychologie de masses. Qu’en est-il aujourd’hui ?


La propagande en tant qu’agent environnemental aux influences inconscientes majeures n’a pas encore fait l’objet d’études psychanalytiques en tant que telle. Les psychanalystes, en commençant par Freud, ont toutefois informé le développement des outils de propagande. Ce dernier, à partir de ses analyses des faits sociaux, dans les ouvrages Psychologie des Foules et analyse du Moi, Malaise dans la Civilisation et Avenir d’une Illusion, pose les jalons d’une psychologie des masses et d’une psychanalyse du renoncement pulsionnel inhérent à toute œuvre civilisationnelle. Plusieurs auteurs à sa suite (Zaltzman, Janin, Kaes, Rouchy, Stenger pour ne citer qu’eux) ont mené des réflexions majeures sur les aléas du travail de civilisation selon les périodes et les cultures.


La psychanalyse a des clés précieuses pour penser, avec les sciences sociales et politiques, ce phénomène ancien qui n’a de cesse de se transmuter, pour en cerner les incidences sur le sujet, mais aussi sur les altérations réciproques de l’individuel et des formes d’organisation du collectif qui se laissent comprendre par l’analyse de ces systèmes d’influence. Avec la psychanalyse, pouvons-nous penser la propagande comme un travail de rêve ou un symptôme politique de notre groupe social mondialisé ? En quoi alors, les contours de la propagande actuelle nous renseignent sur l’état du politique et du groupe social post-moderne ?  

Ce numéro se propose de penser, toujours dans le dialogue transdisciplinaire qui nous est cher, les formes renouvelées de propagande de notre société post-moderne. Comment caractériser ces techniques d’influence actuelles ? S’agit-il d’une évolution de modes d’influence anciens ou d’une révolution technique venant bouleverser les économies individuelles ? Quels effets d’ailleurs de cette propagande renouvelée en termes de mutation des subjectivités et des positionnements subjectifs ? Comment la propagande de la haine, de la peur, de la consommation (l'autre hydre du monde contemporain) a influencé le sujet de la crise environnementale qui est aussi un sujet de la guerre économique, et de quelle manière pourrions-nous aborder, dans la clinique, ses effets inconscients conjoints aux effets des expériences précoces ?
C’est à partir de ces différents questionnements, non exhaustifs, que nous proposons d’ouvrir la réflexion sur ce phénomène de propagande contemporaine, à des fins d’analyse de l’état du socius aujourd’hui que pour dresser les contours d’une clinique de l’individu et du groupe social post-moderne.

Bibliographie
Adorno, T. (2019). Le nouvel extrémisme de droite. Climats.
Beck, U. (2007). World at risk. Polity.
Bronner, G. (2013). La démocratie des crédules. Presses universitaires de France.
Cadwalladr, C. (2020). Fresh cambridge analytica leak ‘shows global manipulation is out of control’. The Guardian.
Colon. D. (2019). Propagande. La manipulation de masse dans le monde contemporain. Paris : Belin.
Curtis, A. (2016). HyperNormalisation. UK: BBC.
Foucault, M. (1989). De la gouvernementalité: leçons d'introduction aux cours des années 1978 et 1979. Seuil.
Freud, S. (1921). Psychologie des foules et analyse du moi. Payot (2013).
Freud, S. (1927). L’avenir d’une illusion. Flammarion (2019).
Freud, S. (1930). Le malaise dans la civilisation. Points (2016).
Herman, E., Chomsky, N. (1988). La fabrication du consentement : de la propagande médiatique en démocratie. Paris : Agone (2008).
Lewandowsky, S., Ecker, U. K., & Cook, J. (2017). Beyond misinformation: Understanding and coping with the “post-truth” era. Journal of applied research in memory and cognition, 6(4), 353-369.
Girel, M. (2017). Science et territoires de l'ignorance. Éditions Quae.
Tchakhotine, S. (1952). Le viol des foules par la propagande politique. Gallimard.
Zollmann, F. (2017). Bringing Propaganda Back into News Media Studies. Critical sociology, 45 (3), p. 329-345.
Zuboff, S. (2019). The Age of Surveillance Capitalism. The Fight for a Human Future at the New Frontier of Power. Public affairs.

> Retour aux Prochains débats.

INAN_PROPAGANDE.jpg